Tag Archives: Vanessa Peters

M.C. Hansen – 3

3 is both an ambitious and interesting musical project from Danish M.C. Hansen triple CD album offers different versions of the same songs;

From Part One

M.C. Hansen 3 (Part One, Dallas, TX) – They Got That From Me

Recorded, mixed and mastered at Pleasantry Lane Studio in Dallas, Texas by Rip Rowan with Milo Deering on pedal steel guitar, mandolin, dobro and fiddle. Vanessa Peters and Paul Averitt backing vocals and Rip Rowan on percussion, keyboards and piano.

From Part Two

M.C. Hansen 3 (Part Two, Fredericia, DK) They Got That From Me

With Hansen’s Danish band, recorded at Det Bruunske Pakhus in Fredericia, Denmark by Kaspar Vorbech. Jacob Chano plays the drums, Morten Brauner bass, Uffe Steen clarinet and electric guitar. Søren Henner mixed the album at Flueknepperiet in Copenhagen.

From Part Three

M.C. Hansen 3 (Part Three, Island Of Møn, DK) They Got That From Me

Recorded at the Real Farm Studio by Rip Rowan with Nikolaj Busk on piano, accordion and glockenspiel, Aske Jacoby electric and acoustic guitar. Nikolaj Wolf mixed the album and added some bass at Ulvetoner in Copenhagen.



Vanessa Peters – The Burn The Truth The Lies

Here’s another Kickstarter success story from a Beat Surrender favourite Vanessa Peters who latest album is up for pre-order now, the Texas-based singer-songwriter who has being recording and playing since 2002 has racked-up over a thousand gigs in eleven countries and also spent a period of years based in Italy – touring through Europe with and without the band Ice Cream on Mondays with whom she recorded and released a trio of albums.

In 2009 after splitting with the band and returning to Texas Vanessa was left feeling emotionally and physically worn down and began to question whether she could continue making music, then last year “almost on a lark” a festive album The Christmas We Hoped For was recorded and released which went on to make its way on to a number of festive top-lists – creative mojo restored she threw of the self-doubt and began writing for what has been distilled into the The Burn The Truth The Lies.

Using Kickstarter as the motivator, a promise made to fans in exchange for their support Vanessa has definitely delivered the goods – album number seven is her best yet and my faith in backing the project has been rewarded handsomely and I highly recommend it, recorded in Austin at Texas Treefort Studios it was engineered by Jim Vollentine (Patty Griffin ,Spoon) and features performances from John Dufilho on drums, Jason Garner on bass, Grammy award-winning guitarist Joe Reyes, and producer Rip Rowan on keyboards.

Listen, enjoy and get the pre-order at Bandcamp