FAREWELL TRANSMISSION – The Music of Jason Molina

Jason Molina

Really looking forward to hearing this album, a tribute to the late Jason Molina who died tragically at the age of 39 on this date last year, leaving behind a powerful recording legacy from both his Songs:Ohia and Magnolia Electric Co. work, revered by his peers it’s no surprise to see such a quality line-up of artists making contributions to the album which will be released on the 22nd of April through non-profit label Rock the Cause , proceeds from the sale of the album will be split between MusiCares a charity that supports artists dealing with addiction, depression and other health issues and Jason’s family. It’s amazing when you speak to fans of Molina’s music how deeply it resonates, here’s a personal take from April of Common Folk Music. My favourite Molina track is on the album and you can listen to Leave This City  via the widget below. The album will also feature a new song Arm in Arm recorded by Jason’s former bandmates under the Memorial Electric Company moniker plus a previously unrecorded track called Trouble in Mind (Fade to Blue).

Full track-listing.
Disc 1:
01 Squares: “Get Out Get Out Get Out”
02 Memorial Electric Co: “Arm In Arm”
03 My Morning Jacket: “Farewell Transmission”
04 Enemy Planes: “Lioness”
05 Murder By Death: “7th Street Wonderland”
06 Sarah Jaffe: “Alone With The Owl”
07 Jonah Tolchin: “Old Black Hen”
08 Ben Lubeck of Farewell Milwaukee: “Leave This City”
09 The Black Swans: “Two Blue Lights”
10 Bro Stephen: “Almost Was Good Enough” [ft. Jim James]
11 Box Of Baby Birds: “Didn’t It Rain”
12 Cory Branan: “Memphis Moon”
13 Gabriel Douglas: “The Dark Don’t Hide It” [ft. Drew Preiner]
14 Fathom Lane: “I’ve Been Riding With The Ghost”
Disc 2:
01 Memorial Electric Co: “Trouble In Mind (Fade To Blue)”
02 Matt Bauer and Heather McEntire: “I Can Not Have Seen the Light”
03 Will Johnson and Briton Biesenherz: “34 Blues”
04 Jim and Jennie & The Pinetops: “Hammer Down”
05 Water Liars: “Just Be Simple”
06 Catherine Irwin: “Steve Albini’s Blues”
07 Nathan Salsburg & Joan Shelley: “White Sulfur”
08 Wooden Wand: “Don’t This Look Like the Dark”
09 Luke Redfield: “Hear My Heart Final”
10 Viking Moses: “Lioness”
11 Bottomless Pit: “The Big Game Is Every Night”
12 Communist Daughter: “Hold on Magnolia”
13 Jonny James and The Hall of Fames: “John Henry Split My Heart”

Can I also recommend the Wave Pictures tribute album, and these two previous posts on Beat Surrender Live Radio K (Rider.Shadow.Wolf) and Remembering Jason Molina.

Remembering Jason Molina

The world lost an artist of rare talent on Saturday gone, a tortured soul who could not run or hide from his own darkness but through his words and music gave strength to many to deal with their own demons – may he rest in peace.

We Have Signal: Magnolia Electric Co. from We Have Signal on Vimeo.

Don’t cry now, cause you’re so much better off
You’re none of what you were, but you’re everything you lost
And whatever you got back after that, is worth whatever it cost

Human hearts and pain should never be separate,
They wouldn’t tear themselves apart both trying to fit

The whole place is dark,
Every light on this side of the town
Suddenly it all went down,
Now we’ll all be brothers of the fossil fire of the sun
Now we will all be sisters of the fossil blood of the moon

I have to work hard to suffer alone,
I have to work hard to be so alone
Don’t like half of who I’ve been,
But I’ve kept my promises to all of them

Holmes "Have I Told You Lately That I Loathe You" (Black Star Foundation 2010)

Holmes are a Swedish five-piece band who started out in Vänersborg in ’03, their first album Wolves was released in the later part of 08′ and their second full release Have I Told You Lately That I Loathe You is set for release June 18th, it will be available as a download, CD and vinyl, all the links for the previous albums and EP are at Bandcamp, as is the free single Strangest Calm I posted about in April, if you listened to that you’ll no doubt have noticed the lead vocalist Kristoer Bolander has a vocal lilt with more than a touch of the Molina to it, Kristoer also handles electric and acoustic guitars, the rest of the band are Johan Björklund – lap steel and electric guitars, Larisa Ljungkrona – accordion, piano, vocals, André Robsahm – bass, and Daniel Zackrisson – piano, electric guitar.

The album is a moody affair, with some superb atmospheric instrumentation woven in and around the distinct vocal, fuzzy guitar, melancholic piano, accordion and steel are used to great affect, the band like many of their local musicians rehearse regularly in an old mental hospital in the town of Vänersborg – which must have something to do with the albums overall sombre timbre, recorded in Sweden mastered in Chicago, artwork from Finland, late night listening to be consumed with shot’s of Brännvin – an excellent collection, label in your library as sad-core Americana?

Holmes – True Lies

WWW MySpace Black Star Foundation