Tag Archives: Emily Barker


25   Daniel Romano – If I’ve Only One Time Askin’


Daniel Romano / Facebook / Twitter

24   John Moreland – High on Tulsa Heat


John Moreland / Facebook / Twitter

23   Joey Kneiser – The Wildness


Joey Kneiser / Facebook / Twitter

22   Dave Rawlings Machine – Nashville Obsolete


Dave Rawlings Machine / Facebook / Twitter

21   Michael Rank & Stag – Horsehair

horsehair cover.indd

Michael Rank & Stag / Facebook / Twitter

20   The Barker Band – The Land We Hold Dear

The Barker Band / Facebook / Twitter

19   The Decemberists – What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World


The Decemberists / Facebook / Twitter

18   The Unthanks – Mount The Air


The Unthanks / Facebook / Twitter

17    M Lockwood Porter – 27


Website / Facebook / Twitter

16   Eilen Jewell – Sundown Over Ghost Town


Eilen Jewell / Facebook / Twitter

15   Vanessa Peters – with the Sentimentals

Vanessa Peters - 'With The Sentimentals' - cover (300dpi)

Vanessa Peters / Facebook / Twitter

14   Lindi Ortega – Faded Gloryville


Lindi Ortega / Facebook / Twitter

13   Kristin Diable – Create Your Own Mythology

Kristin Diable / Facebook / Twitter

12   Emily Barker – The Toerag Sessions


Emily Barker / Facebook / Twitter

11   Trevor Moss & Hannah-Lou – Expatriot 


Trevor Moss and Hannah Lou / Facebook / Twitter

10   Frankie Lee – American Dreamer

Frankie Lee / Facebook / Twitter

9   Lucero – All A Man Should Do


Lucero / Facebook / Twitter

8   Kathryn Williams – Hypoxia 

Kathryn Williams / Facebook / Twitter

7   Lilly Hiatt – Royal Blue

Lilly Hiatt / Facebook / Twitter

6   American Aquarium – Wolves 


American Aquarium / Facebook / Twitter

Sound & Vision – Emily Barker – Anywhere Away

Live on air in 2011, Dermot O’Leary asked me if music for film and TV was something I wanted to do more of. The Red Clay Halo and I had just performed ‘Pause’ live on Dermot’s BBC Radio 2 show, a song which had recently been used as the theme to BBC noir thriller The Shadow Line. Listening in to the show that afternoon, as I answered an emphatic “Yes!”, was film maker Jake Gavin.

The three songs on this EP form the basis of the soundtrack I subsequently composed for Jake’s directorial debut, Hector. Peter Mullan stars in the title role as homeless Hector McAdam, making his annual journey from Glasgow to spend Christmas at a London shelter, his back story unfolding as his journey progresses. Given the bleak backdrop of homelessness in the UK, the film tells a rather uplifting story, highlighting the random acts of kindness from strangers that can bring hope at difficult times.

The song ‘Anywhere Away’ was written for Hector, but also connects with that feeling all of us have faced at one time or another: the feeling that we are being overwhelmed by circumstances out of our control, and the only place we want to be is any place but the one we’re in.

‘Wheels and White Lines’ is a country duet featuring the wonderful vocal talents of Scottish singer-songwriter Roddy Hart. It tells of the fleeting relationships formed when travelling; friendships that matter so much at the time, but are over as quickly as they began.

‘Roll Me in Your Arms’ is included here as it was one of the three original songs written for film, though it wasn’t used in the final cut. It’s sung from the point of view of an old traveller visiting places he knows well but finding the streets changing: shops close down one by one; people move on; the place doesn’t feel so familiar anymore.

Proceeds from the single will be donated to Shelter From The Storm.

SFTS Xmas 2015 from Shelter from the Storm on Vimeo.

Hector is on general release in the UK from 11th December 2015, and is also being shown at selected cinemas in France and Australia.

CD available to purchase at Bandcamp.

Sound & Vision – Applewood Road

In September 2014, three songwriters met for the first time in a cafe in East Nashville. By the next morning they had put the finishing touches to their first song, ‘Applewood Road’, which they recorded live to tape at Nashville’s all analogue studio, Welcome to 1979.

The song’s nostalgic air, along with the clear, sparse arrangement of three vocals accompanied by double bass, drew immediate positive response, and they decided to expand the idea into a full album.

Six months later, they reconvened to write, rehearse and record songs for the self-titled album Applewood Road. The songs were again performed live around a single microphone at Welcome to 1979 and recorded to two-track tape with minimal accompaniment from some of Nashville’s finest session players, including Aaron Lee Tasjan, Josh Day, Fats Kaplin, Jabe Beyer, and Telisha Williams.

The tapes were assembled at London’s most exclusive high-end mastering suite, Gearbox Records, mastered through their vintage analogue outboard, and lacquers cut in-house on their own Heaco lathe.

Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 20.38.45

Applewood Road is Emily Barker, Amber Rubarth and Amy Speace.

Applewood Road / Facebook / Twitter

Related Posts with Thumbnails