Bob Collum – The Ungrateful Depression

Bob Collum – The Ungrateful Depression

Essex-based singer-songwriter Bob Collum has a new EP out, the Oklahoma born artist delivers up five original tracks with the lyrical stylings of Nick Lowe and Elvis Costello in his authentic Midwest twang on The Ungrateful Depression, Collum is joined on the recording with his band – Allan Kelly (pedal-steel), Gareth Davies (bass) and Paul Quarry (drums), with guest vocal performances from ex-Soft Boy Morris Windsor and Country Dirt lead-singer Marianne Hyatt.

I’ve nothing of Collum’s previous music to compare the EP to but I’ll definitely be dipping into his back catalogue on the strength of this memorable recording, the EP kicks off with a great pedal steel drenched country-rocker Primer Grey , track two moves into straight rock territory and he’s is joined by  Marianne Hyatt who adds some great backing vocals to the moodier bass driven Famous Last Words, next up is the title track where the up-beat boom-tick-a-boom carries a darker lyrical message, all change again for track four The Wrong Parade which carries a touch of the country-noir before the EP closes out all too quickly with a return to another pedal steel drenched country-rocker Rebecca Lee.

Bob Collum has shared the stage with a number of luminaries from his home country including Dave Alvin, Marshall Crenshaw, Greg Trooper, Alejandro Escovedo, Robert Earle Keen and Robbie Fulks, you can pick up the album direct from the man himself here and listen to samples of all the tracks and download at eMusic and iTunes, Zingg also have a selection of his previous albums to invest in.


Related Posts with Thumbnails