The High Bar Gang – Lost and Undone: A Gospel Bluegrass Companion

The High Bar Gang - 'Lost & Undone' - cover (300dpi)

True North recording artist Barney Bentall appeared on Beat Surrender back in May of this year with his solo album Flesh & Bone and now he’s back but this time as part of a collaborative bluegrass band The High Bar Gang who have being playing throughout western Canada for the last three years as headliners as well as supporting Blue Rodeo, the bands debut album Lost and Undone : A Gospel Bluegrass Companion features covers of gospel songs made popular by the likes of bluegrass legends Bill Monroe (Walking In Jerusalem, Mothers Only Sleeping) and the Stanley Brothers (Over In Gloryland, Daniel Prayed, Paul & Silas) as well as Hank Williams I Saw The Light and Julie Miller’s All My Tears.

Lead vocal duties on the recording are shared by Wendy Bird, Angela Harris, Shari Ulrich (Vocals, Fiddle, Mandolin) and Barney Bentnall (acoustic guitar) alternating from track through to thirteen with plenty of sweet vocal harmonising to enjoy, track fourteen I Saw The Light is credited to all four voices and the band is completed by bassist Rob Becker, guitarist Colin Nairne with Eric Reed on banjo,mandolin and dobro, keeping the music true to it’s roots the songs were recorded live and in mono.

05 All My Tears

The album is out now in Canada from True North and from Proper in the UK from December 2nd.

Track-listing (lead vocal)
1. Over In The Gloryland (Wendy Bird)
2. Walking In Jerusalem (Angela Harris)
3. Angel Band (Shari Ulrich)
4. Paul And Silas (Barney Bentall)
5. All My Tears (Wendy Bird, Shari Ulrich, Angela Harris)
6. Daniel Prayed (Wendy Bird)
7. Hand In Hand With Jesus (Barney Bentall)
8. Sinners You Better Get Ready (Shari Ulrich)
9. Green Pastures In The Sky (Angela Harris)
10. Rank Strangers (Wendy Bird)
11. Heaven’s Light Is Shining (Barney Bentall)
12. Mother’s Only Sleeping (Wendy Bird)
13. The Fields Have Turned Brown (Barney Bentall)
14. I Saw The Light (all)

The High Bar Gang (1)

Coty Hogue – When We Get To Shore

In a musical world often pre-occupied with digital perfection, faux beauty and false gloss there are beacons of authenticity that shine with their honesty, live recordings have always being difficult to to pull off, striving for the balance between the raw experience and clarity of sound and production is not a simple task to get right, the solution recording in front of studio audience in a carefully chosen venue with a skilled recording engineer that we are talking about today manages to do it – and do it very well indeed.

Coty Hogue – Pretty Bird

Born in the big sky state of Montana’s Coty Hogue now resides in Bellingham WA, her album When We Get To Shore was recorded at Empty Sea Studios a restored Craftsman house in Seattle a venue specialising in acoustic music, for the recorded performance she is joined by fellow Bellingham musicians Aaron Guest (guitar / vocals) and Kat Bula (fiddle / vocals), the album features a blend of Hogue originals, a track from fellow songwriter Sarah Fulford that opens the album, a series of traditional songs and covers of Springsteen’s I’m on Fire the opening track from the classic Fleetwood Mac album Rumours, Second Hand News a track co-written by legends Bill Monroe & Hank Williams, Blue & Lonesome and closes with the wonderful Hazel Dickens track Pretty Bird sung a cappella to spotlight Hogue’s natural gifted vocal talent, elsewhere on the recording sweet harmonies and a smart less-is-more acoustic accompaniment serves the recording well and the whole album is a little gem.

Homepage                         Twitter

Facebook                            iTunes

Related Posts with Thumbnails