Trent Miller – Burnt Offerings

Trent Miller Burnt Offerings

Trent Miller’s new album Burnt Offerings is his third full length release and follows up the excellent Welcome to the Inferno which we wrote a few words about on Beat Surrender back in 2011, the Italian born singer-songwriter has come-up with another winner, the new album is a little more rounded, polished and electric than his predecessors but just as impressive.

Trent recorded Burnt Offerings at Chris Clarke’s Reservoir Studios London with his band – Graham Knight (Jason McNiff) on bass, piano and backing vocals), Steve Brookes (Danny And The Champions of The World) on drums and Barbara Bartz (Dan Raza and Simon J Alpin) on violin, additional support on the recording coming from Ben Walker on electric guitar and Paul Cuddeford (Bob Geldof, Ian Hunter) on electric guitar and lap steel, the core band have now added Paul Lush (Danny And The Champions of The World, Lost Sons of Littlefield) on electric guitar to their live line-up.

 The title track that opens the album sets the standard for the recording with Trent’s laid back vocal floating across the atmospheric guitar lines and hypnotic back beat to great affect, it’s the slightly more up-beat track two Lupita Dream On which steals my heart and plaudits as the best track on the album, aurally seducing me with it’s wonderful guitar work, after resisting hitting the repeat button for the upteenth time and moving on to the rest of the album I was not left disappointed as the subsequent tracks again had me wondering how on earth musicians and songwriters of this calibre do not gain the wider recognition they deserve.

The b-side to Trent’s recent single release Lupita’s Dream On is a song from the Welcome to Inferno Valley album and written as a tribute to the late-great founding member of The Byrds, Gene Clark – whose influence permeates and guides Burnt Offerings .

Burnt Offerings is released today and you can pick up a copy direct from the man himself – highly recommended.

trent067

Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker UK Tour Dates Autumn 2012


News of a series of lives dates for Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker as headliners and support.

Updates and more info here

More on Beat Surrender

Thursday 13th September
The Old Post Office
The Terrace, Rosebush, Clunderwen, Pembs,SA66 7QU

Friday 14th September
Love’s Cafe
9 West Street, Weston-super-Mare,BS23 1JR

Monday 17th September
The Green Note
106 Parkway, London,NW1 7AN
supporting Sam Sweeney & Hannah James

Wednesday 19th September
The Tiger Lounge
5 Cooper Street, Manchester,M2 2FW

Friday 21st September
Farnham Maltings
Bridge Square, Farnham, Surrey,GU9 7QR

Saturday 22nd September
The Globe
144 High Street West, Glossop,SK13 8H

Wednesday 26th September
The Barge Pub
63 Layfield Road, Gillingham, Kent,ME7 2QY

Thursday 27th September
Uxbridge Folk Club (RNA)
388a Long Lane, Hillingdon,UB10 9PG
Supporting Blair Dunlop

Friday 28th September
The Studio
Tower Street, Hartlepool, Cleveland,TS24 7HQ

Saturday 29th September
Hepworth Live
Hepworth Village Hall, Holmfirth,HD9 1TE
Supporting Steve Tilston

Sunday 30th September
The Old Cinema Launderette
38 Marshall Terrace, Durham,DH1 2HX

Wednesday 3rd October
Edinburgh Folk Club
60 Pleasance, Edinburgh,EH8 9TJ
Supporting Lizanne Knott

Thursday 4th October
The Ale House
18-22 Clerk Street, Edinburgh,EH8 9HX

Friday 12th October
The George Hotel
1 Broad Street, South Molton, Devon,EX36 3AB

Monday 15th October
The Green Note
106 Parkway, London,NW1 7AN
Joint headline with Anna MacDonald

Saturday 20th October
CB2
5-7, Norfolk St, Cambridge,CB1 2LD

Wednesday 24th October
The Queen’s Head
66 Acton Street, London,WC1X 9NB
Folkroom! w/ Sophie Jamieson and Samantha Whates

Sunday 28th October
The Boogaloo
312 Archway Road, London,N6 5AT
Patch and The Giant’s Sunday Fete!

also Sunday 28th October
The Amersham Arms
388 New Cross Road, London,SE14 6TY
London Folk and Roots Festival

Wednesday 31st October
The Musician
42 Crafton Street West, Leicester,LE1 2DE
supporting Lady Maisery

Sunday 4th November
The Glad, Borough
64 Lant Street,SE1 1QN

Sunday 11th November
The Regal
The Regal Cinema, Port Street, Evesham,WR11 3LD

Sunday 25th November
The Bell
103 Walcot St, Bath, Avon,BA1 5BW