Tag Archives: Beat Surrender



What Is The Blog Sound of 2015?

The Blog Sound of 2015 poll aims to showcase some of the best new emerging artists. However, unlike the ubiquitous BBC Sound of poll, the artists nominated aren’t picked just by industry experts. Instead they’re voted for by music bloggers, a small number of whom may work in the music industry, but the majority of which are just hardcore fans who write their blogs because of their genuine passion for music, normally with no financial incentive to do so.

This poll is not about picking acts who bloggers think will be famous. The bloggers involved are asked to vote for their favourite acts, irrespective of chances of commercial success.

How The Voting Worked

This year the Blog Sound Of 2015 poll canvassed 62 UK music blogs in November 2014, the most ever since its 2011 start. It asked each one to pick its 3 favourite emerging artists and rank them in order of preference. In total 148 artists received at least 1 vote, showing the diversity of bloggers’ tastes. The acts scored 3, 2 and 1 points respectively. The bloggers could choose any artist they wanted, providing the artist had not had a top 40 hit (including as a collaborator on a song) by the time voting started and that they weren’t related to or have any financial interest in any artist they selected. Where 2 artists tied on the same number of points, the artist with the most first place votes was ranked higher.

The 15 most popular acts that form the long list include artists that are on major labels as well as indie and unsigned ones, such as Brighton based indie band Fickle Friends, fuzzy sounding Glasgow punks Halfrican, goth ‘n’ soul singer Chloe Black, recent XL signing Lapsley and singer songwriter Sophie Jamieson, an artist who appears on the list for the second time running having also appeared the previous year.

The act who gained the most amount of points in the poll will be announced on January 2nd 2015.

The Full Blog Sound of 2015 Longlist (In alphabetical order)

All We Are
Black Honey
Chloe Black
Fickle Friends
Sophie Jamieson
Tei Shi

The Blogs That Participated In This Year’s Poll:

17 Seconds, A New Band A Day, A Pocket Full Of Seeds, A World Of Music And Madness, Across The Kitchen Table, Alphabet Bands, Beat Surrender, Beat2aChord, Both Bars On, Brapscallions, Bratfaced LDN, Breaking More Waves, Brighton Music Blog, Daisy Digital, Dots And Dashes, Drunken Werewolf, Echoes and Dust, Electronic Rumors, Even The Stars, Everything Flows, Getintothis, God Is In The TV, Hearty Vibes, Hitsville UK, I Love Pie, Just Music That I Like, Kemptation, Like 1999, Lipstick Disco, Little Indie Blogs, Love Music : Love Life, Music Broke My Bones, Music Liberation, Music Like Dirt, My Day By Day Music, Never Enough Notes, Not Many Experts, Notes For A Road Sign, One Album A Week, Popped Music, Queen Beetch, Rave Child, Scientists Of Sound, Some Of It Is True, Song By Toad, Sounds Good To Me Too, Sound Of Now Music, Spectral Nights, Sweeping The Nation, The Blue Walrus, The Devil Has The Best Tuna, The Electricity Club, The Evening’s Empire, The Mad Mackerel, The Metaphorical Boat, The Paper Penguins, This Must Be Pop, Thoughts On Music, Three Beams, Too Many Blogs, The VPME, What If I Had A Music Blog,

Beat Surrender – Best of 2012 – EP’s

The nominees are.

Zoe Muth & the Lost High Rollers – Old Gold EP

Frightened Rabbit – State Hospital EP

FRIGHTENED RABBIT – State hospital from handheldcineclub on Vimeo.

Bob Collum – The Ungrateful Depression

Bob Collum – Primer Grey

Paper Aeroplanes – Time to Be EP

Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker – Homemade Heartache EP

Al Lewis – Our Lines Remain EP

Georgia Ruth – In Luna EP

Fire Mountain – Of The Dust EP

White Pines – Plume of Ash EP

The Woody Pines – You Gotta Roll

Kelsey Waldon – Fixin’ It Up (The EP)

Elizabeth Cook – Gospel Plow

Elizabeth Cook – Jesus

Larkin Poe – Thick As Thieves

Larkin Poe – Love Or Money

Rachel Brooke – Late Night Lover

Browan Lollar – For the Givers & The Takers

Allo Darlin’ – Covers

Beat Surrender – Best of 2012 – Alt-country

The nominees are.

Sons of Bill – Sirens

American Aquarium – Burn.Flicker.Die

American Aquarium – Abe Lincoln

Ronnie Fauss – I Am the Man You Know I’m Not

Ronnie Fauss – The Night Before The War

Lilly Hiatt and The Dropped Ponies – Let Down

Lilly Hiatt and The Dropped Ponies – Let Down

Wrinkle Neck Mules – Apprentice to Ghosts

Wrinkle Neck Mules – Central Daylight Time

Corb Lund – Cabin Fever

Eight Belles – Girls Underground

Eastbound Jesus – Holy Smokes

Chris Knight – Little Victories

Chris Knight – In the Mean Time

Mad Staring Eyes – Talking to the Operator

Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys – Release Your Shrouds

Dig Deeper – August Afternoon

Greater Pacific – Incandescent

Greater Pacific – Daylight

Arliss Nancy – Simple Machine

Arliss Nancy – St. Forgot

Truckstop Darlin’ – Hope & The Heart It Breaks

Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Live from Alabama

Beat Surrender – Best of 2012 – Americana

The nominees are.

First Aid Kit – The Lions Roar

My Darling Clementine – How Do You Pleed

Old Crow Medicine Show – Carry Me Back

Hurray for the Riff Raff – Look Out Mama

The Barker Band – Dig Me A Hole

Otis Gibbs – Harder Than Hammered Hell

Megan Reilly – The Well

Megan Reilly – “To Seal My Love” directed by Elizabeth Bergeland from Megan Reilly on Vimeo.

Kathleen Edwards – Voyageur

Awna Teixeira – Where The Darkness Goes

Awna Teixeira – 3 – Where The Darkness Goes

Miss Shevaughn & Yuma Wray – We’re From Here

Miss Shevaughn & Yuma Wray – Go Hang

Alabama Shakes – Boys and Girls

Shelley Miller – February

Quarter Mile Thunder – Twist

Quarter Mile Thunder – Tell Me

The Honey Dewdrops – Silver Lining

Winterpills – All My Lovely Goners

Annie and the Annie and the Beekeepers – My Bonneville

The Dirty Beggars – Bite The Bullet

Related Posts with Thumbnails