Trent Miller – Burnt Offerings

Trent Miller Burnt Offerings

Trent Miller’s new album Burnt Offerings is his third full length release and follows up the excellent Welcome to the Inferno which we wrote a few words about on Beat Surrender back in 2011, the Italian born singer-songwriter has come-up with another winner, the new album is a little more rounded, polished and electric than his predecessors but just as impressive.

Trent recorded Burnt Offerings at Chris Clarke’s Reservoir Studios London with his band – Graham Knight (Jason McNiff) on bass, piano and backing vocals), Steve Brookes (Danny And The Champions of The World) on drums and Barbara Bartz (Dan Raza and Simon J Alpin) on violin, additional support on the recording coming from Ben Walker on electric guitar and Paul Cuddeford (Bob Geldof, Ian Hunter) on electric guitar and lap steel, the core band have now added Paul Lush (Danny And The Champions of The World, Lost Sons of Littlefield) on electric guitar to their live line-up.

 The title track that opens the album sets the standard for the recording with Trent’s laid back vocal floating across the atmospheric guitar lines and hypnotic back beat to great affect, it’s the slightly more up-beat track two Lupita Dream On which steals my heart and plaudits as the best track on the album, aurally seducing me with it’s wonderful guitar work, after resisting hitting the repeat button for the upteenth time and moving on to the rest of the album I was not left disappointed as the subsequent tracks again had me wondering how on earth musicians and songwriters of this calibre do not gain the wider recognition they deserve.

The b-side to Trent’s recent single release Lupita’s Dream On is a song from the Welcome to Inferno Valley album and written as a tribute to the late-great founding member of The Byrds, Gene Clark – whose influence permeates and guides Burnt Offerings .

Burnt Offerings is released today and you can pick up a copy direct from the man himself – highly recommended.


The Rockingbirds – The Return of the Rockingbirds

Update: Full album stream

After a long hiatus UK country rockers The Rockingbirds are back with a new album that’s out on Loose Music Feb 25th, the bands third album aptly entitled The Return Of The Rockingbirds, self-produced and recorded at a trio of studios Reservoir, Ernie’s and Ilex through 2010/11 the album features eleven original numbers penned by frontman Alan Tyler. The band reformed in 2008 to play at Heavenly’s 18th birthday show at the South Bank, London and carried the momentum into 2009 to support the re-release, in a re-mastered and expanded mode, of their debut album, they’ve continued to play, write and record together and The Return is complete with this release. Original band members Alan Tyler (acoustic guitar, vocals),Sean Read (keys and horns), Patrick Arbuthnot (pedal steel), Andrew Hackett (guitar) and Dave Morgan (drums) are joined by Mark Duncan on bass to complete the line-up.

Buy the CD @ the Loose shop

Related Posts with Thumbnails