Sound & Vision – The Franklys

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 20.02.13
The London based multi-national garage rock The Franklys have lined up a series of dates in England kicking off at the end of this week, this is the bands next single that get an official release on October the 13th and will be available to buy and download at all the usual suspects, the band are American born drummer Nicole Pinto, the UK’s Zoë Biggs on bass with Swedish pair Jen Ahlkvist on guitar/lead vocals and Fanny Broberg on guitar. Maximum volume is recommended.

For the vision here’s ‘Puppet’ the first single from the bands excellent debut EP.

The Franklys / Facebook / Twitter
26 Sep – BRIGHTON – Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar
27 Sep – MAIDSTONE – The Rafters
03 Oct – LONDON – The Macbeth
09 Oct – LONDON – Old Blue Last (Single launch party)
08 Nov – SHEFFIELD – The South Sea
15 Nov – OSLO – Vangard
21 Nov – BRISTOL – Mothers Ruin
29 Nov – SUFFOLK – John Peel Centre
13 Dec – TUNBRIDGE WELLS – The Forum


Lindsay Clark – Begin

Well this one has certainly being a while in the making, around two years ago I backed a Kickstarter campaign to support Lindsay Clark’s third album – after her second release came my way in a similar manner the year before – fast forward to today and the album has just gone public with a digital release on Bandcamp (CD’s will also be available from October 5th) and it’s a true what’s said  about ‘the best things’ and ‘waiting’, as the album, Begin, is a real delight.

Begin features Lindsay’s delightful voice, at times A cappella, and where in play the instrumentation swirls like gentle eddies in the crystal clear flow of the vocals, plucked strings of guitar and banjo, piano and violin colour wash the spartan, sometimes haunting, songs beautifully.

The album was recorded in Portland at Lindsay’s Victorian home with support from Sean Ogilvie ( Laura Gibson and Musee Mecanique), Lindsay is backed by  Ryan Spellman (drums,), Willem Joersz (upright bass), Sean Ogilvie (electric bass), and Mirabai Peart (violin).

‘Begin’ was written over the course of a few years in the transition from east coast to west coast and in the first few years of living in Oregon. The songs on their own are sparse but arranged with fullness and intention. I think they embody my native California more than the Northwest – images of roses, white space, trees, fields, and poetry. Some tracks are about ending relationships, one is about family loss, but carrying over themes from ‘Home of the Brave’ (2011) they are also reflections of self and space. It’s a little bit about trusting that place where you voice is confident enough to begin (whether that work is music, or maybe something else) – that has always been hard for me, because I’ve been so extremely shy for most of my life. What was most exciting in creating this record was working with so many talented others (drums, bass, and violin) and playing a lot of the instruments myself, and also arranging most of it myself. Singing without instruments was incredibly freeing (‘Robin Song’ and ‘I Give’) and let me revisit my roots as a choir girl. The record moves between classical, blues, and folk music which are my big influences. I think this is the best record I’ve made so far and I can’t wait for many ears to find it and with any luck find as much joy in listening as I did making.

Lindsay Clark / Facebook / Bandcamp / Twitter


Related Posts with Thumbnails