Category Archives: Rock

Sound & Vision – Misty Miller

Teaser track from Misty’s new EP Sweet Nothing which is out on
Relentless Records next month, and a rather nice stripped down video version to go with it.

Live dates:
Sat 21st Feb – Scholar Bar, Leicester
Sun 22nd Feb – The Golden Fleece, Nottingham
Wed 25th Feb – Oporto, Leeds
Fri 27th Feb – Riverside, Sheffield
Sun 1st Mar – Gullivers, Manchester

Misty Miller / Facebook / Twitter / Soundcloud

Vinyl Love – Matthew Ryan “Boxers”

MR Boxers cover FINAL copy
Matthew Ryan’s 2014 release Boxers is one that passed my be last year, but thanks to a recent PR mail announcing a vinyl release of the recording I’ve had a chance to listen and it’s definitely one I’ll be investing in, the album was recorded at Applehead Studios in Woodstock, NY and includes a guest performance from The Gaslight Anthem’s Brian Fallon on guitar and the vinyl version is available in Europe from the fine folks at Blue Rose Records or direct from the man himself in North America , on the subject of vinyl Blue Rose offer an excellent personalised service on vinyl recordings from a number of great artists – more info.

For digital you can listen and buy at Bandcamp

Matthew Ryan / Facebook / Twitter

Tijuana Bibles – UK Tour Dates

Picture 59

Glasgow psych-rockers Tijuana Bibles have announced a new single Sun Chaser and a series of tour dates in February and March both north and south of the border.

Sun Chaser

UK Dates

5 Perth – Green Room
6 Dunfermline – PJ Molloys
7 Aberdeen – Lemon Tree
13 Travel Day – Acoustic set (London)
14 London – Macbeth Hoxton – supporting Courtesans
20 Kilmarnock – Bakers Nightclub
26 Inverness – Mad Hatters
27 Wick – Blackstairs Lounge
28 Thurso – Y-not Bar and Grill

6 Copleand Stadium – Whitehaven
7 This Feeling – Amersham Arms – London
20 This Feeling – Broadcast Midnight show – Glasgow
21 This Feeling – Sneaky Pete’s – Edinburgh
27 Leicester Academy 3 – Headline Show
28 This Feeling – Night and Day Cafe – Manchester

Tijuana Bibles / Facebook / Twitter

Sound & Vision – Sons of Bill – Bad Dancer + Euro Tour

Sons of Bill / Facebook / Twitter

Euro Dates
Feb 05 Poppodium Grenswerk Venlo, Netherlands
Feb 07 Molotow Bar Hamburg, Germany
Feb 08 Bang Bang Club Berlin, Germany
Feb 09 Ampere Munchen, Germany
Feb 10 Luxor Koln, Germany
Feb 11 QBus Cologne, Germany
Feb 12 Metropool Hengelo, Netherlands
Feb 14 The Bullingdon Oxford
Feb 15 Railway Inn Winchester
Feb 16 The Tunnels Bristol
Feb 18 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Feb 19 Stereo, Glasgow
Feb 20 The Cluny, Newcastle
Feb 21 The Maze, Nottingham
Feb 23 Hoxton Bar & Kitchen, London



Soulful folk-rockers Danny & The Champions Of The World have been invited to Nashville, Tennessee to play an official showcase at the 2014 Americana Music Festival, with their key appearance set to be at the wonderfully weird music spot that is Jack White’s Third Man Records (Fri 19th Sep, 11pm).

The news coincides with the announcement that the band will be releasing their long-awaited, first ever live album, “Live Champs!” through Loose Records on 29th September, with an extensive UK tour to follow throughout October (see below).

“In a way it’s the ultimate Champs album” enthuses Danny & The Champions Of The World front man Danny George Wilson on new record “Live Champs!”, and he’s not wrong. The double album runs from 2008’s These Days taken from their self titled debut, to a selection of favourites from last year’s critically acclaimed album, Stay True (“their finest set yet” ★★★★ MOJO”), via the likes of Henry The Van from 2010’s Streets Of Our Time and Colonel & The King from 2011’s Hearts & Arrows. It’s almost like a greatest hits of Danny & The Champions The World.

However, this particular hits package captures what the studio recordings can’t quite convey – the raw passion and energy of a Danny & The Champs live show. As Danny explains “ever since I was a kid I’ve absolutely loved live recordings, ever since we played those bootleg cassettes in our dad’s car again and again… its something that a studio album cannot capture. This is what we sound like right now and I’m thrilled we were able to capture that”.

Recorded live at a sold out hometown show at Jazz Cafe, Camden on the 6th March this year, featuring co-conspirators Trevor Moss & Hannah-Lou, you can either take this as a welcome reminder of a shit-hot show, or a harsh lesson on how you should never pass up an opportunity to catch this band live.

“Live Champs!” – Danny & The Champions Of The World, live at Camden Jazz Café, is out 29th September via Loose Records.


23 Aug DUNDALK, Spirit Store
07 Sep SCFM FESTIVAL, Winchester

01 Oct ALDERSHOT, West End Centre
02 Oct CARDIFF, The Moon Club
04 Oct BRIDGWATER, Arts Centre
05 Oct EXETER, Phoenix
07 Oct HULL, Fruit
08 Oct BARNARD CASTLE, The Witham
09 Oct DUNDEE, Buskers
10 Oct ABERDEEN, The Tunnels
11 Oct EDINBURGH, Sneaky Pete’s
12 Oct GLASGOW, Broadcast
13 Oct LEEDS, Brudenell Social Club
15 Oct SHEFFIELD, The Greystones
16 Oct MANCHESTER, Ruby Lounge
17 Oct LEICESTER, The Donkey
18 Oct BIRMINGHAM, O2 Academy3
20 Oct NORTHAMPTON, Playhouse Theatre
21 Oct HERTFORD, Corn Exchange
22 Oct PORTSMOUTH, The Cellars
23 Oct NEWBURY, Arlington Arts Centre
24 Oct LONDON, Dingwalls
25 Oct BRIGHTON, Bleach

Danny & The Champions of the World Live

Related Posts with Thumbnails