Category Archives: Beat Surrender

Rich Girls – Fiver

Fiver is the new EP from Rich Girls and my Bandcamp recommendation of the week.  Originally the solo musical vehicle for guitarist and singer-songwriter Luisa Black the Rich Girls project has grown into a band with the addition of August Churchill (guitars) and Chris Sipe (drums), this is their first EP together, heavy on the reverb with a gorgeous retro vocal styling creating a delightful cacophony of sound.

Label / Facebook / Twitter



Allo Darlin’ – We Come From the Same Place


Having already professed my musical affection for the work of Allo Darlin’ in a recent post about the bands upcoming album We Come From the Same Place  I’ve been lucky to get my hands on a review copy of said album which I’ve being digitally spinning over and over for the last few days, having set the bar high with their previous two albums they’ve managed to out do themselves this time around with a wonderful collection of peerless indie-pop tunes.

The songs were conceived during a time of transition for songwriter Elizabeth Morris, as she explains, “So many things have happened since I first wrote the songs that make up this album, it’s difficult to remember back to where it all began. The songs were written very quickly, during a period when I found writing songs very easy, whereas I often find songwriting very difficult. Some of the songs were written so fast I can’t even really remember writing them. The songs were a joy to write, and writing them made me feel better about lots of things.”


With the songs written the band road tested them live playing a series of smaller venues in North, South, East and West London that they christened the Compass Shows, the band then returned to Soup Studios in the capital where their self-titled debut was recorded, this time around the the plan was to try and capture the essence and nuances of the bands live performances, or as the band guitarist Paul Rains put it, “We’ve used three years of touring to try and get some of that sweat and grime and togetherness and sweetness and anxiety onto a record.”

My introduction to what lay in store began with the lead-single that went public last month, it took me a few listens to make the connection but the opening to Romance And Adventure reminded me somewhat of End of Miles by Frank Black & The Catholics, digression apart it’s short, it’s sharp and it’s smart without pretension – the energetic beat and jangle of the guitars belie the songs break-up narrative as it careers along head-first into the key line “I’m just tired of being strong”.

The second ‘single’ that was released to the internet a couple of weeks back will also be available on a limited edition 7inch later in October (pre-order at Piccadilly Records), Bright Eyes is a rare duet from the band and sees Elizabeth sharing vocals with guitarist Paul Rains, “I wanted to write another duet, but the only problem with doing that is that when you play live it’s very rare that the person you recorded it with can be there. So I thought it would be great to write a song with Paul singing the other part. I love Paul’s singing and I wanted to hear him do it more, so it’s quite selfish really!”

As someone who is often guilty of looking back through rose-coloured glasses the album offers up a shot of “anti-nostalgia” to remind one of what really matters is rarely in the past, with the excellent Crickets in the Rain , “nothing feels the way it did before and I am grateful for that” and my personal pick from the eleven track release History Lessons of which Elizabeth says, “I guess at some point I became a bit tired of everything seeming better in the past, from music to relationships to buildings to societies. We’re a bit obsessed with it and it can become overwhelming. We don’t live in the present. This song is trying to express that frustration.”

It’s being my pleasure to listen to some amazing albums this year, but this one is sitting right at the top of the pile – if only all ‘pop’ music was made this way – file under essential listening.

The album is out on October 7th on Slumberland and Fortuna POP! in the UK , you can pre-order the vinyl at Cargo or direct from the band here – but you’ll have to wait a little longer for it to arrive as they are touring across the US until early November, before embarking on a tour in the UK with the excellent Making Marks

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Bandcamp

US Dates
10 October – Brooklyn, NY Glasslands Gallery
11 October – Philadelphia, PA Boot & Saddle
12 October – Washington, DC Rock & Roll Hotel
13 October – Chapel Hill, NC Local 506
14 October – Atlanta, GA 529 Club
15 October – Tallahassee, FL Club Downunder
16 October – New Orleans, LA Gasa Gasa
17 October – Houston, TX Rudyard’s
18 October – Austin, TX The Mohawk
19 October – Dallas, TX Club Dada
21 October – Phoenix, AZ Last Exit
22 October – San Diego, CA Soda Bar
23 October – Los Angeles, CA The Echo
24 October – San Francisco, CA Rickshaw Stop
25 October – Sacramento, CA Witch Room
27 October – Portland, OR Bunk Bar
28 October – Vancouver, BC Electric Owl
29 October – Seattle, WA The Vera Project
1 November – Minneapolis, MN Icehouse
2 November – Chicago, IL Schuba’s
3 November – Detroit, MI Lager House
4 November – Toronto, ON The Drake Hotel
5 November – Winooski, VT The Monkey House
6 November – Cambridge, MA Middle East (Upstairs)
UK dates with Making Marks
18 November – Sticky Mike’s, Brighton
19 November – The Maze, Nottingham
20 November – Deaf Institute, Manchester
21 November – Unity Hall, Wakefield
22 November – Henderson Halls, Edinburgh
23 November – Star and Shadow Cinema, Newcastle
24 November – Scala, London

allodarlin_2012 C small


Holly Williams – Waiting On June (Official Music Video)

“This song means more to me personally than anything I’ve ever written. It’s the bittersweet true story of my grandparent’s life together from the beginning until the end. I wrote it from the shoes of my papaw to my granny, shortly after I lost both of them. The Williams legacy side is always focused on, and I’m unbelievably proud to be in the lineage, but I didn’t know Hank Williams as a grandparent. He died in 1952 and Audrey was gone before I was born. The grandparents I knew and loved and spent so much time with were Warren and June White, from a small town in Louisiana called Mer Rouge. We compiled tons of old family footage to disperse throughout this video that was shot as a live performance. It meant so much to me to make this video, I truly hope you enjoy…”

Facebook / Twitter / More on Beat Surrender

Because it’s so good………….

Related Posts with Thumbnails