Daniel Romano – Modern Pressure

Daniel Romano will release his seventh solo album in as many years this week via his own You’ve Changed Records in Canada and New West elsewhere; the prolific singer-songwriter continues to surprise and delight listeners in equal measure with each new release and this one is no exception.

His latest offering is the most eclectic yet and one that takes the listener on a postmodern genre meandering ride, weaving together elements of country suffused retro-rock, indie and psychedelia.

Modern Pressure represents his most accomplished recording to-date, a sum of it’s parts, writing playing and production, for me it’s one of 2017 benchmark recordings – highly recommended.

“’Roya’ is a celebration of women. Roya’ is to represent the femininity in nature and the universal She. This is a devotional memoir pertaining to the strength, endurance, spirit, and godlike gravity of our mothers, sisters, lovers, and friends.”

Daniel Romano / Facebook / Twitter

The Creation “Creation Theory” a new 5 Disc compilation

On 28th April Edsel will release a five-disc collection of one the greatest, most influential British cult bands ever, including an exclusive version that comes with a signed certificate from Eddie Philips (limited to 500).

Alan McGee was such a big fan of The Creation that he named his record label after the band, and named his own band after one of their songs – Biff Bang Pow. The Creation was formed in 1966 from beat combo The Mark Four, and was quickly signed to a production deal with Shel Talmy, The Who’s producer. The first release was the urgent “Making Time”, which featured guitarist Eddie Phillips playing his guitar with a violin bow, two years before Jimmy Page started doing so. Whilst very popular in Germany, UK success largely eluded the band, and after a number of non-charting singles and line-up changes (including Ron Wood), the band broke up in 1968 without ever having released an album. Bizarrely, Boney M had a huge hit in 1979 with the band’s composition “Painter Man”.

Phillips and lead vocalist Kenny Pickett recorded an album in 1987 that remained unreleased until 2004, and in 1995, following reunion concerts at Harlesden’s Mean Fiddler, Alan McGee and Joe Foster managed to persuade the original line-up to record a new album, for release on Creation Records.

Compiled with the assistance of Eddie Phillips himself, this limited edition deluxe media book presents a chronological history of the band. The four CDs include all eight single sides by The Mark Four (and three live reunion recordings from 1985), all of The Creation’s legendary recordings for Shel Talmy, in both mono and brand new stereo mixes, the 1987 album and the Creation Records album, and some solo recordings by Eddie from 1990 and 2011.

The DVD features a lengthy new interview with Eddie, filmed in October 2016, five songs from The Creation’s two live appearances on the legendary German 60s TV show “Beat Beat Beat” (from the original tapes, three songs appear on DVD for the first time), and 21 songs from the band’s two reunion concerts at the Mean Fiddler in the 90s.

The book has been designed by Phil Smee and features exclusive photos and memorabilia from both his and Eddie’s collections, as well as a new extensive annotation by Alan Robinson.

THE MARK FOUR [1964 – 1966]
1. Rock Around The Clock
2. Slow Down
3. Try It Baby
4. Crazy Country Hop
5. Hurt Me If You Will
6. I’m Leaving
7. Work All Day (Sleep All Night)
8. Going Down Fast

THE CREATION [1966 – 1968]
9. Making Time
10. Try And Stop Me
11. Painter Man
12. Biff Bang Pow
13. Sylvette
14. If I Stay Too Long
15. Nightmares
16. Cool Jerk
17. Like A Rolling Stone
18. Can I Join Your Band
19. Hey Joe
20. Life Is Just Beginning
21. Through My Eyes
22. How Does It Feel To Feel [UK version]
23. Tom Tom
24. How Does It Feel To Feel [US version]
25. I Am The Walker
26. Ostrich Man
27. Sweet Helen

1. Midway Down
2. The Girls Are Naked
3. Bony Moronie
4. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
5. For All That I Am
6. Uncle Bert
7. Making Time [instrumental]
8. Painter Man
9. Biff Bang Pow
10. Sylvette [full length]
11. If I Stay Too Long
12. Nightmares
13. Cool Jerk
14. Like A Rolling Stone
15. Can I Join Your Band
16. Hey Joe
17. Life Is Just Beginning
18. Through My Eyes
19. How Does It Feel To Feel [UK version]
20. Tom Tom
21. How Does It Feel To Feel [US version]
22. Midway Down
23. For All That I Am
24. Instrumental # 1
25. How Does It Feel To Feel [instrumental]

THE MARK FOUR [Live 1985]
1. Hurt Me If You Will
2. Got My Mojo Workin’
3. That’s How Strong My Love Is
THE CREATION Psychedelic Rose [1987]
4. Lay The Ghost
5. Psychedelic Rose
6. Radio Beautiful
7. United
8. Doing It My Way
9. Making Time [new version]
10. Far From Paradise
11. White Knight
12. Spirit Called Love
13. The Jimi Hendrix Trilogy

THE CREATION Power Surge [1996]
1. Creation
2. Power Surge
3. Someone’s Gonna Bleed
4. Shock Horror
5. That’s How I Found Love
6. Killing Song
7. Nobody Wants To Know
8. City Life
9. English Language
10. Free Men Live Forever
11. Ghost Division
12. O+N
13. Woodstock Daze
14. Good Times


THE CREATION Live on German TV [1966 – 67]
BEAT BEAT BEAT, September 1966
1. Making Time
2. I’m A Man
3. That’s How Strong My Love Is
4. Try And Stop Me
5. Painter Man

THE CREATION Red With Purple Flashes: Live at The Mean Fiddler [1993 + 1995]
6 JULY 1993, includes interviews with band members
1. Try And Stop Me
2. Life Is Just Beginning
3. I’m A Man
4. Nightmares
5. If I Stay Too Long

22 AUGUST 1995
1. Batman
2. Biff Bang Pow
3. Try And Stop Me
4. Life Is Just Beginning
5. I’m A Man
6. Nightmares
7. If I Stay Too Long
8. Hey Joe
9. Making Time
10. Creation
11. Power Surge
12. Tom Tom
13. That’s How Strong My Love Is
14. How Does It Feel To Feel
15. Painter Man
16. Biff Bang Pow

Michael Parrett – Money Loving Hippie

Really enjoying this debut video / single release from London based singer-songwriter Michael Parrett, heavily influenced by his love of 60’s and early 70’s pop culture Michael plays in Paul Orwell’s live band is working on more material that’ll be released later this year.


Related Posts with Thumbnails