Kathryn Williams – Hypoxia

Kathryn Williams sings with beautiful clarity on her interpretative homage to confessional poet Sylvia Plath’s semi-autobiographical novel The Bell Jar, a musical project that grew from an open commission from  Writing North in 2013 to write a song commemorating the 50th anniversary of the novels publication. The writers muse was released and a ‘revelatory re-reading’ of The Bell Jar provided the inspiration which led to an initial five-song set that where subsequently performed last year at Durham Town Hall alongside a reading by writer Andrew Wilson from his book ‘Mad Girl’s Love Song – Sylvia Plath and Life Before Ted’.

Though not the first to draw inspiration from Plath’s life and work (there’s a wonderfully eclectic playlist here to enjoy) this thoughtful interpretation has genuine depth and the connection made by Williams led to the creation of more songs over the ensuing months including a collaboration with Ed Harcourt to create the beautiful Cuckoo – my personal favourite from the nine-track release, the album is out today on One Little Indian and available on vinyl too – highly recommended.

More: BBC 6Music Session Observer Feature

Kathryn is currently on tour promoting the album:
Wed 17th June – The Black Swan, York
Thur 18th June – The Burgess Foundation, Manchester
Fri 19th June – The Victoria Theatre, Halifax
Sun 21st June – The Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh
Wed 1st July – The Kitchen Garden Café, Birmingham
Thur 2nd July – Octagon Chapel, Norwich
Fri 3rd July – Ramsgate Music Hall, Ramsgate
Sat 4th July – The Folk House, Bristol
Wed 8th July – The Green Note, London
Thur 9th July – Cluny 2, Newcastle upon Tyne
Tickets

KW4

Kathryn Williams / Facebook / Twitter

 

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Share me...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someone