Amy LaVere – Runaway’s Diary

Amy Lavere

New music from Amy LaVere is always something to grab my immediate attention – Runaway’s Diary is the new album from the Memphis based singer-songwriter and upright bass player, a ‘concept’ album that reveals through it’s twelve tracks a personal journey for Amy who ran away from home at the age of 15, an album of ’emotion, catharsis and innocence’. The album’s not due until May and the tracks are under wraps at the moment and we can’t share any with you, so you’ll just have to take me at my word when I tell you it’s definitely one to be looking forward to.

The album was produced by Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi Allstars) who also plays guitar and mandolin on the album, there are also contributions from a host of top drawer musicians including Tim Reagan (guitar, piano, organ), Steve Selvidge (guitar), Will Sexton (guitar, BG vocals) Shawn Zorn (drums), George Sluppick, Sam Shoup (Mellotron), Jim Spake (saxophone), Sharde Thomas (drums, BG vocals) and Paul Taylor (drums).

Amongst the original songs written by Amy for the album are a couple of notable covers from departed legends John Lennon and Townes van Zandt, How? and Where I Lead Me.

Runaway’s Diary will be released as a CD and Vinyl LP through Archer Records on May 26 in the UK .
1. Rabbit
2. Last Rock n’ Roll Boy to Dance
3. Big Sister
4. Self Made Orphan
5. Where I Lead Me
6. Snowflake
7. How?
8. Don’t Go Yet John
9. Lousy Pretender
10. Dark Moon
11. I’ll Be Home Soon
12. Reprise

Amy Lavere

Here’s a favourite KDHX session including the wonderful Killing Him.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Share me...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someone