Sharon King and the Reckless Angels

Sharon King Nothing Everything

Edinburgh singer-songwriter Sharon King (guitar) has joined forces with Amy Geddes (fiddle) and Vera van Heeringen (guitar, mandolin) collectively The Reckless Angels who take their name from the title of one of Sharon’s previous albums recorded with the The Neverever Cowboys, the trio will self release Nothing = Everything next month kicking it off with the CD release party on July 18th at Douglas Robertson’s Number 42, Edinburgh, with a twelve day tour of Scotland following on.

The album was recorded by Stuart Hamilton at Edinburgh’s Castle Sound Studio where the trio were joined by studio guests Andy Thorburn (accordion & piano), Alan Wishart (acoustic bass) and Heather MacLeod (backing vocals), mixing credits going to Tim Mathew who has worked with folk luminaries James Yorkston, King Creosote and Eliza Carthy.

Twelve original songs make up the album that is awash with sweet harmonies and instrumental nuances that carefully frame Sharon’s creative narrative, the album serves as a reminder of how enjoyable music created in Scotland or indeed anywhere in the UK can successfully interpret American roots music whilst maintaining a distinct identity of it’s own.

The album is up for pre-order at Bandcamp ahead of it’s release July 18th, alternatively check out the tour dates here and get a copy direct from the band.

Sharon King and the Reckless Angels – Travelling Ways

Sharon King Reckless Angels

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Share me...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someone